iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

repair question on older saw

Started by foresthawk, December 01, 2004, 06:13:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

foresthawk

have an old craftsman saw; 70s vintage; 3.7/17.
 engine runs fine, but has problem with lots of wobble at the clutch/sprocket.   any ideas as to what is wrong and how to go about fixing?      appreciate any advice.

Kevin

Is the wobble in the clutch or the shaft?

foresthawk

stating i am a novice mechanic--  but it appears the shaft coming out of the engine is tight;   where the wobble (play) exists  is where the clutch /sprocket  sit on that shaft -
that is to say the  clutch/sprocket wobble on that shaft.

Lewis Brander

I would say that your should remove the clutch and take a dial indicator and check the shaft for being bent. If the shaft is straight and not bent, then you'll need to replace the clutch parts that are causing the clutch to wobble. Possibly the center needle bearing or bushing in the clutch drum. Good luck in finding parts, if you need them. If there is a brass bushing in the center of the clutch drum, can be made at a machine shop. The needle bearing might be able to be cross referenced to get a replacemant after its been measured. Good luck. Lewis.
My hobby is restoring old saw. Just because it's old, doesn't mean she can't run and look good again. Take care. Lewis Brander.

foresthawk

i follow what you said.
now --  can you advise how is clutch removed?  i am figuring special tool is needed  -- and would clutch be loosened by turning it  off clockwise, or counterclockwise?

oldsaw

Loosen it clockwise.  Pull the plug and then pull the rope until the piston is all the way to the bottom of the cylinder (I put a dowel or screwdriver in to see where it is), then stuff the cylinder with a few feet of 1/4" or 3/8" rope.  The piston will stop on the rope and you will be able to loosen the clutch.

So many trees, so little money, even less time.