iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Suugestions for a (smaller) saw for my wife?

Started by JimNAZ, July 13, 2014, 01:06:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JimNAZ

Hello,

I currently have a Husqvarna 450 Rancher. I am new to chainsaws and using them but am getting the hang of this one and really like it. I showed my wife how to use it and she actually did some cutting. I guess she liked it because she said she had a blast. Unfortunately it is too heavy for her and she cannot hold for long periods of time.
Any suggestions on a smaller lighter saw she could use to trim branches or cut up some firewood? All we have on our land is Juniper trees. Most of the trunks and/or limbs are less than 16", or at least what my wife would be cutting. We are off grid so it needs to be gas or chargeable.

Thoughts?

Thanks
Jim

goose63

take the wife to the dealer have her hold a few saws till she finds the right one 8)
goose
if you find your self in a deep hole stop digging
saw logs all day what do you get lots of lumber and a day older
thank you to all the vets

ozark timber

stihl ms180, 14 " bar.   I have 4 stihl saws, and this is the smallest, but I use it ALOT more than I thought it would.  Very light and I cut a lot of wood in the 6-14" range with it.

sprucebunny

And if you have a little more money to spend; the Stihl MS192
It is a hair lighter than the MS180, has more power, and a real oil pump.
It takes an extra step to get started but I think it's more dependable.

I wish I'd bought this saw first instead of 3 MS180s over 10 years.
MS193, MS192 and an 026  Weeding and Thinning. Gilbert Champion sawmill

BlueRidgeMark

I'm not a Husky man.  I'm not a Stihl man.  I'm a "quality tool that gets the job done" man.  Both are excellent, and I frankly don't have a high opinion of fan-boys.   Between the two, really, the choice comes down to dealer support.

That said, I have a Husky 435 that has really surprised me with what it can do.  For such a small saw, it's a beast.