iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I guess logging is about being busted sometimes...

Started by Offthebeatenpath, February 08, 2013, 02:39:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Offthebeatenpath

I've been hesitant to share this story because I'm a newbie logger, but if you can't laugh at your own misfortune, you may well live a pretty serious life...

After logging and pulling firewood with my little skid steer and a borrowed Timberjack for the last couple winters, I made the investment in a 1985 440D.  Read a bunch on the forum here, asked some questions, got the machine checked out by a JD mechanic, then pulled the trigger and bought it. My other job had me tied up for awhile so after I drove it off the truck, it sat in my yard. Fired it up every week or so just to let it know I hadn't forgotten about it.  A few weeks ago, I started it and after idyling for a few minutes, it went BANG!, clattered for a millasecond and died in a puff of smoke.

Turns out, the connecting rod bolts broke and sent the rod slamming into the crankshaft.  Not sure of engine block damage yet.  I hadn't even driven into the woods with the machine.

A bit concerned (understatement!) about my abilty to pay for the repair, I decided to dedicate myself to pulling out small diameter firewood with the little skid steer til the skidder was fixed.  Worked one day at it then fell and broke my wrist.  Now, I'm out of work for eight weeks, can't even pick up a saw.  Ought to be healed up just in time for posted roads and mud season...

Who wants to be a logger now?

On the upside, I'm getting pretty darn good at typing with one hand...

1985 JD 440D, ASV tracked skid steer w/ winch, Fecon grapple, & various attachments, Hitachi CG-30 tracked dump truck, CanyCom S25 crawler carrier, Volvo EC35C mini-ex, Kubota 018-4 mini-ex, Cormidi 100 self loading tracked dumper, various other little trail building machines and tools...

Jay C. White Cloud

Hey OBP,