iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Felling up hill

Started by Kingmt, October 26, 2015, 08:28:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kingmt

I have a tree I want to harvest that is just a few feet down from the top of the hill. Below it is trees I don't want to damage & I really don't want to fight it back up the hill. I've never tried taking one up hill before & was wondering how to go about it or if it is to dangerous.

It is probably about a 60 degree grade or better so it is about straight up & down.There is enough room on top of the hill for it to land but the trunk of the tree will hit the hill before it is all the way down. It is a White Oak about 20" across. The limbs are pretty well balanced & the tree is very straight so it should be easy to get it to go any direction I chose.

I'd assume thin hinge to let it snap as soon as the trunk touches if I were to fell it that way.

If it isn't apparent Until recently I haven't fell many trees. When I did firewood I usually cut what was already down or I cut trees in the way & didn't care about trees on the hill side or getting dirt in the bark. Now that I'm sawing I'm a little more picky.
Sawmill=Harbor Freight Item#62366
Chainsaws=MS180CBE(14"), MS290(18"), MS038(20"), MS660(20" & 36")
Staff=1Wife & 5 Kids :)
Please excuse my typing. I don't do well at catching auto correct.

Pine Ridge

Felling trees uphill on steep ground is in my opinion one of the most dangerous scenarios a faller can face, tree coming off the stump and butt coming at you so fast you don't have time to get out of the way, or anywhere to go to get out of the way. I fell one like your describing a long time ago, i walked away without a scratch, but i'll never forget it, i'd fall it downhill, sidehill, or i'd leave it, just my opinion.
Husqvarna 550xp , 2- 372xp and a 288xp, Chevy 4x4 winch truck

beenthere

Or fall it at an angle between straight up hill and sidehill. Just so the top doesn't hang over the crest.