iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Yellow pine flooring

Started by Mathias, November 29, 2004, 06:48:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mathias

Hello everyone. I've been lurking around here for a few weeks and finally decided to join in.
  I'd like to get your expert advices and opinions on how I should go about making some wood flooring out of 3 yellow pine trees that range from 24-30" in dia. that haven't been dropped yet. I plan on building a solar kiln to dry them in first.
  I am new to this whole experience of cutting and drying. I am trying to find out all I can before I get started so I don't turn it all into firewood.
  Should it be quarter sawn? Pine is much more stable than hardwoods so I don't know if it really needs to be.
  Any input you have is greatly appreciated.
Hand plane collector

Tom

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, Mathias. :)

If you plan to turn the trees into conventional flooring, 2 1/2" to 4" wide, then you should take every opportunity to produce vertical grain.  The floor will be more stable in vertical aligment and will wear better.  The tendency for vertical grain boards is to Crook.  That means that the boards will move horizontally.  They can be held in line because each board holds the other.

You can use both the sapwood and the heartwood, but the heartwood is most desired.  Try, if you can, to produce as much vertical grain from the heartwood as you can.

Vertical grain boards expose the most late-wood to the wear surface too.  The late wood is denser and wears better than the early wood.