iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tractor logging choice.

Started by sawyerkirk, May 06, 2002, 07:07:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sawyerkirk

I currently log, load, push, disk, plow, bale, haul and a list of other things with my 1965 ford 5000. It's a fine machine, does everything I need it to. If I find a log to big for it, I really don't want to mess with it anyway. I am thinking of getting a newer tractor for logging, and was curious what other "tractor loggers" use. It's not a large bulky machine in the woods and I appreciate that. She's gettin tired and I don't want to push her much longer.

Frank_Pender

Sawyerkirk,

I have been using a Johnnie Popper 5300 with a  loader, for the last 4 years.   It will not quite pick up a 4000lb log at 12'.   ;)   She is a 50 horsepower unit.   In my next purchase I will purchase the next size up, just to better help in eliminating over stressing the tractor.  I do not hay any longer, so the tractor is used simply for the Tree Farm.  I have a 9' flail that I use for keeping the roads free of grasses and weeds, couple of back blades for rock road repair and maintainance, as well as the chipper and logging winch/grapple  I designed.          
Frank Pender

woodmills1

I have put a few pictures of my kioti and metavic forwarder trailer on some previous threads.  even though it is only 30 horsepower i am quite happy with this combo.  I have picked up some large sticks though i winch them close before lifting. for the largest i take the stakes off the trailer and load one end at a time, and then set these big logs right into the woodmizer off of the trailer.

James Mills,Lovely wife,collect old tools,vacuuming fool,36 bdft/hr,oak paper cutter,ebonic yooper rapper nauga seller, Blue Ox? its not fast, 2 cat family, LT70,edger, 375 bd ft/hr, we like Bob,free heat,no oil 12 years,big splitter, baked stuffed lobster, still cuttin the logs dere IAM

Frank_Pender

Nice looking outfit, Woodmills 1! :)
Frank Pender

Norm