iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

1st Log Truck Build

Started by Nick585, July 25, 2019, 11:05:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nick585

I'm looking to build a log truck.  I have the truck I'm in search of a knuckle boom self loader to mount on the truck.  Good places to find used equipment like this?

Truck:  1980 Ford L9000, 8.3 Cummins 500hp, 13 speed road ranger transmission, 20k front 40k rear, double frame, 16' from back of cab to rear.

I am primarily a tree service.  I am also a hobby logger and amateur sawyer.  I am looking to pick 5000 lb minimum.  

Good places to search for used self loaders and knuckle booms that are not already mounted to a truck?  I am located in Rochester NY.  I welcome any advice as this is my first build.  

sawguy21

Used pickers are dicey unless you are buying from a reputable equipment dealer. Here at least mandatory inspections are quite stringent. Have you checked heavy equipment auctions?
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

charles mann

using as an example only, i did a search on knuckle boom cranes, and other than ebay, this is what popped up. is this what you are talking bout, or something similar to a prentice loader?

https://www.cranetrader.com/listing/auction-results/31531419/2000-palfinger-pk23080c-mounted-on-2001-freightliner-fld120-mounted-knuckle-boom-cranes

i have NO affiliation with the above site, again, just a google search. i wasnt able to find many used knuckle booms, if this is the similar style you are referring to.