iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

uneven and wavey cuts

Started by John Grange, July 07, 2015, 09:10:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Grange

I am new to this, purchased a Timberking 1600. I have cut some White Oak, Red Cedar and Cottonwood with no problem. I have sharp/new blades, new belts on band wheels and good lubricant. I adjust speed blade supports, and I get wavey cuts 25% of time.

Problem #2, cutting square?

sandhills

Sorry I can't help with that but will say welcome to the forum.  I guarantee you came to the right place for help, someone will be along shortly that can help you out, there's a lot of Timberking owners here.

Seaman

Welcome to the knowledge base !
Frank
Lucas dedicated slabber
Woodmizer LT40HD
John Deere 5310 W/ FEL
Semper Fi

drobertson

Not familiar with that make of mill, could it just be a little knotty?  I get some waves time to time when going from soft wood to hard knots, to fast through the knots can give you a wave. 
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Den-Den

I am going to guess that the problem is blade tension too low (assuming that the waves are about evenly divided between cutting too high and too low).  Alignment issues seem to result in the blade tending to either climb or dive.  Dull blade or not enough set can also cause similar issues.
You may think that you can or may think you can't; either way, you are right.

Percy

Im only speculating here but when I was new at this, I cut a truckload of birch and thought "hey, this is neat." Then started cutting sitka spruce and was ready to quit...couldnt cut a strait board to save my life...... point being, there is a buttload of different woods to cut and all seem to have a favorite set/feed rate etc....Im still learning after 18 years....