iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Logging for large company vs logging for yourself ?

Started by U.P mich, April 06, 2017, 08:53:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

U.P mich

Hello all.  I'm new to this forum tho I have read a lot of posts in the past. I'm just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on the topic of company logging vs private logging.  I have been a company sub contractor with my own equipment for 5 years and that's the way I'd say 80% of people log around here.  Tho I am thinking of going private with one crew to try to generate more profit.  I'm a little afraid of the private market mainly because I have never done it before. Setting up contracts , getting boundary lines in. Marketing wood etc etc...  Any Opinions / info is appreciated.

chevytaHOE5674

We cut probably 90% of the time for a large company (which takes care of marketing, road building, trucking, lines, timber marking, etc) the rest we do some private work. The hard part about cutting private wood for yourself is marketing the pulpwood. Just before break-up we were cutting a private job and since the pulp market is so tight we have a few hundred cords pulp decked up with no place to go. In fact the large company we cut for has a few thousand cord of pulpwood decked up because they are at their quota.

Generally if the big guys have trouble with quotas and moving pulp then the little guy has no chance as all.

As for running lines we just have a surveyor come in and ribbon the lines when needed. Hire somebody to build roads when needed. 

U.P mich