iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stihl 260 Pro & 391 issues after rebuild...

Started by jiggysmb, December 04, 2017, 01:24:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jiggysmb

Figured I would condense these. I have rebuilt about a dozen Stihls due to scored pistons, leaking crank seals, etc, so I have some background. I was recently given 2 saws and here are their stories.

Stihl 260 Pro -low compression and broken handle but started and ran ok. I replaced the cylinder/piston, gas line/filter, rebuilt the carb and used an after market (chinese) fuel tank/handle. The carb on this saw was a little different than most. Fixed High screw on carb, and metering diaphram had a little nub to hit the needle lever. This area I was unsure of, with the lever sitting down in a sump, should the lever sit flush with the lip around that area? Either way, the saw wont start unless I dump some fuel mix in the carb and it will run for a couple seconds. Wont start at all pulling. I thought it was a fuel line issue, so I replaced the Chinese fuel line with a stock line and still wont start. Impulse line also came on the handle housing but fits tight. I wasnt sure where the Low screw on the carb should be so I tried 1/4 turn and full turn out with no luck. Any idea where the carb with no H screw should be set on the L side?