iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Bear Scratching

Started by AfraidChocker, March 11, 2016, 07:26:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AfraidChocker

Do black bears scratch nonchalantly upon trees?

I came upon a Spruce yesterday, and while I know bears are still in their deep slumber sleeping off the hangover from last falls fermented berry juice still, it looked as if last fall a bear scratched a bit at a spruce tree. Not a lot, but it did get the sap going in the wounds. I thought it might have been where a skidder had rubbed up against the tree because that is what it looked like. Not rubbed down past the bark like a bumper tree, but maybe like a single trip past the tree where the tire chains rubbed along the trunk. But no skidder should have ever treaded there in the last 20 years.

I have seen a lot of bear tracks in the area, but was not sure if a bear sharpens its claws like my stupid cat does upon my recliner?
As a sheep farmer, I have no intentions of arriving at the pearly gates in a well preserved body, rather I am going to slide into heaven sideways with my Kubota tractor, kick the manure out of my muck boots, and loudly proclaim, "Whoo Hoo, another Sheppard has just arrived!"

sandsawmill14

yes they do i dont know if its claw sharpening or not but they do scratch trees but so do the big cats if you have any in the area :)
hudson 228, lucky knuckleboom,stihl 038 064 441 magnum

Weekend_Sawyer

Yep, I see bear scratching on our Birch trees and on every telephone pole along one gravel road.
I think the bear is saying this is my area and I am this big.

Jon
Imagine, Me a Tree Farmer.
Jon, Appalachian American Wannabe.

red

A bear was hit by a car at 7 pm this week. Light damage to car bear walked away . He may have been  sleep walking.  My friend has a telephone pole where a Big bear had scratched half of the pole away at 5 ft high ?
Honor the Fallen Thank the Living

Mooseherder

I came across these marks made on one of our Fir tree a few years ago.