iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Experience with different decking material?

Started by samandothers, September 04, 2017, 12:15:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

samandothers

As we look to building a timberframe home we have started to consider several of the materials.  One area is the decking material. 

I am looking for feedback on experience with composite, PVC or wood such as IPE.  In particular I would like a low maintenance material.  I have been cleaning and restraining a pressure treated deck for the past 24 years.  I am leaning toward a capped PVC decking to eliminate wood fibers (present in composite) to reduce mold mildew and eliminate staining. 

While IPE is very hard it is still a wood and I assume would check, splinter and  would require not only cleaning but restraining for protection.

Thanks for input.

Bruno of NH

The PVC is not what they all claim it to be.
I have sold and installed a lot .
I wouldn't use it on my own house
I like Ipe
I just installed some Siberian larch was some nice stuff this last week.
Lt 40 wide with 38hp gas and command controls , F350 4x4 dump and lot of contracting tools

wesdor

Our deck is 12 years old and we used Trex.  It has held up nicely but I do pressure wash it every couple years just to get off dirt. 

Chop Shop

Its kinda ironic your asking about plastic decking on a sawmill forum.

I have nothing good to say about plastic decking products.  They look cheap/fake and most times age badly.   

Good ol Red Cedar or Redwood for decking out here on the west coast.

Don P

The best thing you can do for a deck to make it and the building it would otherwise splash on last, and make it more user friendly is to build a porch.

One of the nicest looking materials I've seen locally is black locust on a porch floor but it can be tough to find enough good stock.