iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Curing firewood

Started by bandmiller2, January 07, 2019, 05:26:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bandmiller2

Guys I've been heating with wood for 50 years and burn 10-12 cords a year in my outside boiler. I know wood will dry better stacked but is a loose pile that much worse for curing. It would save a lot of labor to just pile it. Thanks Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

Allar

As long as it gets direct sunlight and wind  you're good to go. Just try to have it spreaded as much as possible.
Firewood & Chainsaw videos: Firewood Warrior - YouTube

doc henderson

Air movement in and around speeds up the process. So if you are the guy who is cutting, splitting and drying three years in advance, you are good.  If so, I have never met anyone like you!    :)   To speed things up you can stack in long rows oriented to get heat from the sun and or wind through the stack.  Also you take a step back every time the stack gets wet so cover well.  Timber green has a video on making a solar kiln with plastic.  i hope to someday build an 8 x 20 solar kiln to dry and store my wood in.  It is recommended to season for at least 1 hot summer.  Also if you get it up off the ground that is good, like with pallets.  if you are on the farm and can make piles to set for years, that is how my uncle does it.  if you like to google stuff, there is an old German i think way to stack like a silo to promote water shedding and air movement.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

doc henderson