iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Bucking with a new Stihl 660

Started by Adamj, September 06, 2003, 06:57:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adamj

This is my first post to the forum.  I was fortunate to discover the form several days ago.  I am impressed with the wealth of knowledge available here.  I am picking up a new Stihl 660 (28" bar) this afternoon, along with some new safety gear (chaps, protective shirt, protective gloves).  I have always endeavored to remain safety conscious.  Accordingly, I have always worn my Sthil safety helmet, chaps,  and protective steel toe boots.  I am cautious of not exceeding my abilities and training.  Although I have years of experience bucking and delimbing small trees for firewood (12" or less), I have no experience on larger timber.  This brings me to the cunnundrom.  I have come across a 70+ foot old growth cherry tree that had a limb damaged in a wind storm.  My friend would like the tree removed.  However, I am not competent to fell this large tree.  I have hired a professional to fell and delimb this tree.  I bought the Stihl 660 for the express purpose of bucking and ripping this tree.  My Stihl 029 doesn't appear to be an effective saw for this task.  I would appreciate any further direction and input regarding the  task of making this large tree ready for a log splitter.  There will be some large pieces at the base of the tree (39" base).  Your input and expertise is greatly appreciate.

Kevin

Adamj;
Welcome to the forum.
The first thing that comes to mind with bucking a tree of that size is the potential for stress in the tree on the ground and the amount of end bind,shear and torque that could be encountered when you cut into it.
If you understand how these forces will affect what you do to this tree it will make the job much safer.
Large trees on the ground have maimed and killed many unsuspecting woodsmen.