iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Milling in West Africa

Started by jonbart, February 19, 2016, 09:54:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jonbart

Greetings:
I have worked in Sierra Leone, West Africa for 8 years (www.villagehopeinc.org).  We attempt to reduce poverty in remote villages by starting commercial businesses that use state-of-the-art methods.  I hope that people on this forum will give us advice on one such business.
The business would make turning and carving blanks and export them to developed countries.  We'd only use small trees destined to die through natural thinning as well as dead and recently down material.  Our products would be ready for retail sale.  We hope this approach would provide employment and avoid over-exploitation of natural forests (I am a research ecologist with 37 years employment in the US government so this topic is close to my heart).
My question is "What equipment for milling and finishing" should we look at most carefully.  I'm a researcher; I'm not asking you guys to do all my work for me.  I just need a little help to get started.
Thanks for whatever advice you can provide.
Jon Bart (jonbart@gmail.com, 208 870-9806)
Jobs change everything.

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum

The one phrase used
QuoteWe'd only use small trees destined to die through natural thinning as well as dead and recently down material.
bothers me and I have to wonder why the growing stock of these same trees would not be utilized rather than just the dead and dying.
What are they being saved for, and for whom? Seems we could do the most good for these countries' peoples by helping them utilize the raw materials resource that they already have.
This is not a viewpoint shared by everyone for sure. And I don't mean that we should exploit without careful management. Maybe not possible given the land ownership and grip of Int'l groups in control.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others