iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Daily Maintenance for LT-40

Started by Jjoness4, March 02, 2017, 09:48:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jjoness4

I continually see folks getting thousands of hours on Woodmizers and other mills.  I am just learning my LT-40 and wanted to know what you guys did on a daily basis to insure that you get long service out of your mills.  Of course I am doing the things that the WM manuals recommend but there may be best practices that you have adopted that goes over and above the minimum requirements.  I want to pass this machine on to my son when I am too pooped to pot.
2017 LT40HDD35 , Kubota 4701, Ford 3000, Stihl Farmboss

petefrom bearswamp

Daily: I lube the chains and mast with ATF
Weekly or so I grease everything and lube the track wiper with atf.
My diesel engine leaks oil so I check this every other day.
Kubota 8540 tractor, FEL bucket and forks, Farmi winch
Kubota 900 RTV
Polaris 570 Sportsman ATV
3 Huskies 1 gas Echo 1 cordless Echo vintage Homelite super xl12
57 acres of woodland

Andries

Quote from: Jjoness4 on March 02, 2017, 09:48:20 AM
^snip^ doing the things that the WM manuals recommend ^snip^
That's best advice right there.
My "over and above" advice would be:
- end of day: leaf blower to get sawdust off of everything. Some sawdust (oak) is acidic.
- cover the mill. UV rays from the sun will degrade plastics quickly. Tarps are ok, but sheds are best.
- Don't try to custom upgrade or out-fox the designers. Your mill is the end design of many years of user feedback and refining by engineers. Let the machine do it's job to within its limits.
- don't cheap out on parts. Every machine has high wear parts. Wheel belts, roller guides, etc. Every mill has an operator that has a knuckle head moment ( or day  :o ). Buy the part needed from the company that made the mill, or is recommended by them.
- passing the mill on to your son? Get him involved and train him early - on the best ways to operate the mill.