iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

COOKS AC36 use or New woodmizer lt35

Started by Hayseed, January 06, 2019, 07:24:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hayseed

Hello I am new to the form. I have a small farm in Virginia. I have 100 acres of timber. I have helped on a old Frick circle mill most my 45 years of life. I am looking at a couple local sawmills to cut mostly for my personal use maybe sale some down the road. I have a friend willing to sale me his well maintained Cooks AC36 deisel with cat sharper. Has 700 hours, 04 model.  For about the same price that I can purchase almost  new woodmizer Lt35 with 40 hours. Any advice would be greatly appreciate.  I have some big mature timber I'd like to use for fencing, Sheds, Barn ....  Thanks Hayseed 

Hayseed

Sorry left out some information. Woodmizer lt35 has hydraulics and Mud Saw.

PC-Urban-Sawyer

What kind of engine does the WM have?

If it's diesel then it's a tossup, otherwise take the cooks.

Herb

WV Sawmiller

I hear very good things about the Cooks mills but I have not personally seen them in operation. I see good things about the WoodMizer LT35 hydraulic every time I fire mine up and have only good things to say about the WM team including the fact they offer a service loop every other year to help keep it in near new running condition.

I'd suggest you observe both in operation and compare the features offered on both. Good luck. I really doubt you go wrong with either.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

Hayseed

dgdrls

The AC36 is larger and has more capacity.  
Based on the age of the Cooks I would guess its not an emission regulated diesel which
many find a plus.
IMHO go with the Cooks, larger mill, support and supplies are on par with WM.

D

Hayseed