iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Any way to test the market????

Started by bikedude73, September 21, 2009, 08:35:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bikedude73

Anyone have good ideas on testing the local market to see what the potential is for business planning?????? I know one can never know for sure but any rules of thumb so to speak????

Bibbyman

I'm an expert at testing the market.  Been doing it for 15 years now.   ;)

What are you trying to market?  And to whom? 
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

fishpharmer

That's the 20-40,000 dollar question.  I have often asked that question myself.  Difficult to test a custom sawing marking without a sufficient mill.

How do you know if there is a custom sawing market at all?  If there is one, is it being filled already by someone that doesn't advertise or visit FF? 

The first step in this process for me goes like this......... Do I need a personal sawmill?                    Yes

Can I justify a nice manufactured mill with all the bells and whistles?                                              No, not for my use alone.

Can I pay for the above mill with a few custom sawing jobs here and there?                              Maybe...Maybe not.

Do I have time to custom saw?                                                                                                 Definitely not.

Should I buy a mill?                                                                                                                   No.

Is this why most mill manufacturers have a 30 day money back guarantee? :D
Built my own band mill with the help of Forestry Forum. 
Lucas 618 with 50" slabber
WoodmizerLT-40 Super Hydraulic
Deere 5065E mfwd w/553 loader

The reason a lot of people do not recognize opportunity is because it usually goes around wearing overalls looking like hard work. --Tom A. Edison

backwoods sawyer