iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

pro and con's fixed head compared to dangle head.

Started by turkytrk, August 14, 2014, 08:49:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

turkytrk

I'm looking at both were in steep country in southern Colorado and mostly pine and fir.

Firewoodjoe

I've never ran either. We slash. But all of guys around here do and they say the dangle head will cut circles around the fixed heads. Especially in the pine. I just know there big money to cut one stick at a time:/

SliverPicker

If you have any blowdown that you want to pick up the dangler is the way to go.
Yooper by trade.

BargeMonkey

What are you planning on using for a carrier ? Process on the stump or on the landing ? Ive got a barsaw with lateral tilt on my Timbco, holding out for a Rolly2, and I have no complaints. I dont believe you can rest much weight on the dangle head with the carrier, I use my head all the time for turning, I maybe wrong but on the super steep ground its handy.

tj240

my old employer has a 445 timbco with a 20 inch quadco 360 rotation my friend that runs it does blow down like mad. even does small building lots. wood put where he wants it. dangle head tree fall in a direction you want. fixed head tree goes where you want when you want unless it got to be double or triple cut
work with my father[jwilly] and my son. we have a 240 tj 160 barko[old] works great three generations working together

deastman

I went with a fixed head so I could use it as a feller-buncher also if I wanted too, and I like having more control of the tree with the fixed head. And like Bargemonkey pointed out you can put the head down and lift the carrier up to help in turning and getting around in rough terrain. I've never run a dangle head but from what I've seen they are faster than a fixed head.