iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Will this work, or dumb idea?

Started by GearDrive, August 11, 2016, 12:43:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GearDrive

I've been wanting to build a timberframe cabin on my 40 acres with the trees that are on it. My first thought was to buy a bandsaw mill. My second thought is I'm a cheap SOB and want to make one. I like the simplicity of the chainsaw mills, but they look slow, under powered, and a lot of work.

So here is my idea. I haven't seen anything like it, but I'm  green.

I have an air cooled VW engine that produces 50hp.
Buy a 36" chainsaw bar and chain.
Drive the saw chain with the VW.
Make a carriage for the unit with the bar and chain running in the vertical position.

The VW does not have a governor, so I'm thinking hand throttle when powering through the wood.

I have a chain sharpener already.

I work in Tool And Die, so making adaptors,  machining shafts, etc. Won't be a problem.

I have no experience with a mill, but 30 years with a chainsaw.

Czech_Made

There are builds out there similar to yours.  Here is a mill built commercially in Europe:

Czech_Made

Since the VW engine is heavy, I would probably keep the sawing head stationary and move the log into the cut.

I built copy of Logosol for myself, prefer electrical power to gas:

https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,90578.msg1394410.html#msg1394410

If you are tool and die, you can build about anything, I worked in that field overseas :)

Good luck!

Joe Hillmann

If you run the chain in the vertical position your clamping system has to be much stronger and maybe more complicated than if it is horizontal.  Your carriage will also need to be larger/more complicated.

Dave Shepard

Before I had my WoodMizer,I thought of doing something like this. I think a horizontal bar would make operating this mill much easier and safer. That is a lot of engine for what you are doing. A vertical shaft engine out of a lawn tractor would be ideal.