iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

.325 on a 359?

Started by konrad695, December 09, 2006, 09:05:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

konrad695

I just picked up a 2004 Husky 359 to replace the Solo 651SP I sold.  The guy I bought it from said he needed something bigger.  I don't think he hardly ever used.  It came with a 20 laminate bar and three Vanguard chains.  One chain is 1/3 used the other two are almost new.  From past threads it looks like most people prefer LP and RS chain.  I still have my powermatch bar and three 20LP chains from my Solo.  I plan on opening up the muffler on the 359.  Is it worth running the 20LP on it?  Will the chain hold up?  Any ideas from about what provides a good balance on this saw.  Most wood will be medium sized.  My background is .325 pitch on the Solo and 72 LP/CL on a 266XP. Any help before I get rid of the wrong stuff would be helpful.  Thank you, Konrad

sawguy21

The 20LP  chains will work fine although you may need to cut and splice to fit the 359 bar. The question is why would you? We sell that saw with 73LP and it has plenty of power. Open up the muffler, tweak the carb and it will eat the competition's lunch.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Don K

I have a new 359 that I've run about six tanks thru and I keep hearing people talk about modifying the muffler to get more power. I have a 20" bar on it and it does a impressive job already. I have been using saws since I was a teenager, but beyond sharpening chain, sparkplugs and like maint. I know very little about tuning a saw. Could someone shed a little more light on the mod?
Lucky to own a WM LT40HDD35, blessed to have a wife that encouraged me to buy it.     Now that\'s true love!
Massey Ferguson 1547 FWD with FEL  06 GMC Sierra 2500HD 4X4 Dozer Retriever Husky 359 20\" Bar  Man, life is getting good!

konrad695