iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Total newbie to this board and sawmills

Started by widfam, August 16, 2015, 03:44:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

widfam

Well working with wood most of my life I always wanted a sawmill and I just had the opportunity to purchase a used woodmizer LT40H and decided to go for it.  So of course I have a lot of questions and decided to join this forum after finding it on a google search. I look forward to gaining knowledge from all the experience represented on here.  So excuse any future dumb questions. ;D.

I already had someone say they had a tree I could come and get all I had to do was load it and take it away.  Hmmm  I was excited until I started to think about how I could load this tree onto a trailer.  I was thinking of possibly building some sort of tripod and using a come along some how maybe???  If I could get the log in the air I am sure I could get it on the trailer either by rolling it with pipes or using a come along.  Comments...
2009 Woodmizer LT40H

fishfighter

Welcome aboard. Use the search and there are all kinds of ways that people posted loading logs on a trailer.

I'm new to sawing myself. Having the right support equipment makes things easy. At the bottom of the main page on the left side, look for "Tool Box". Really all kinds of good info that us newbes can use.

terrifictimbersllc

welcome, widfam. There's oodles of discussion about getting logs onto trailers here.   search on parbuckle or parbuckling in the search box. Here's one of many threads you will find this way that you can read up on: https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php/topic,78490.msg1193260.html#msg1193260

p.s. maybe you can take the mill over and mill it there
DJ Hoover, Terrific Timbers LLC,  Mystic CT Woodmizer Million Board Foot Club member. 2019 LT70 Super Wide 55 Yanmar,  LogRite fetching arch, WM BMS250 sharpener/BMT250 setter.  2001 F350 7.3L PSD 6 spd manual ZF 4x4 Crew Cab Long Bed

Ianab