iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Epicormoc sprout control

Started by maple man, June 04, 2018, 06:29:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maple man

I have a fifty acre mixed wood lot in central ME which was abused in a variety of ways before I bought it ranging from neglect of reforesting pasture to severe high grading of existing stock. I have been releasing and pruning oaks and maples for about 12 years with good results but last year had 10 acres mechanically harvested in patches from 1 to 2 acres removing everything but selected crop trees which are spaced out and exposed. My previously released crop trees (10"-16") are looking great but many of the the smaller trees (4"-6") are now sprouting vigorously and I am, as expected, going to be scraping off the epicormics while they get used to their new situation. This is a hobby lot so the time spent isn't an economic issue but lots to do and I want to use it to best advantage. 

Questions:
   How large can these sprouts be allowed to grow before they degrade the log quality? 1/8 inch? 1/4 inch?
    Does time of year they are pruned off influence how quick they grow back or how fast  the tree catches on that they are not needed?

I am hoping that these trees will stop sprouting once the crowns expand but will this tend to continue until crown closure improves to shade the bolls or just until the tree develops a healthier crown size?

Thanks for your help

Ron Wenrich

The epicormic branch has already made the defect.  On the smaller trees, they may contained in the low grade cant during the sawing process.  The larger trees will yield some defect in some of the jacket boards.  If you're lucky, it stays only on one side of the board.  The grade on the board will drop.  I've sawn through logs where the grade drops dramatically, then comes back up on the next pass.  It was due to epicormic branching.