iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Just A Little Introduction

Started by lil171, October 08, 2018, 10:55:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lil171

Hi all. So I recently got a new Chainsaw, Stihl MS 171, as well I have an old Mastercraft / Poulan 2300CVA, and am relatively new to the whole wood cutting thing. I do not plan on cutting a lot, just for fires at home and the lake. Anyways, I have been reading a few topics here that interested me so I thought I would join up. My main goals are to properly learn how to cut a tree or two, basic saw maintenance and most importantly how to do so safely. So with that said, glad to be here and do a lot of reading and learning. Thanks for having me.

Southside

Welcome to the Forum, lots of good folks here, feel free to ask questions, share experiences, and join in on the conversations.   smiley_wavy
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

olcowhand

Welcome to the Forum, lil171.
As a newbie myself, and I'm still on the "learning" side of the knowledge swapping going on here. You'll get plenty of good advice...
Steve
Olcowhand's Workshop, LLC

They say the mind is the first to go; I'm glad it's something I don't use!

Ezekiel 36:26-27

thecfarm

lil171,welcome to the forum.
Get the safety gear,chaps,helmet,boots,glasses,I think I got it all.
Lots to getting the tree down safely.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

HolmenTree

Welcome to the forum fellow Manitoban lil171.
Best way to start is read your Stihl's owners manual, best way to introduce yourself to your saw and know what questions to ask. 
Making a living with a saw since age 16.

lxskllr