iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

finish for barnwood picture frame

Started by cinnabar, August 14, 2016, 06:42:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cinnabar

I have been matting and framing paintings done by my grandmother for a while now and will need to be making a frame or two of barnwood. 
The wood is douglas fir that was milled by Great grand dad about 1906 from his property in Montana. 
My question is what to put on the finished frame to keep it from splintering and yet, not loose the soft grey color.  I have 3 planks 7' and 1 " thick at varying widths. I am no expert at frame making, so these frames will be simple and rustic to go with a wagon train painting.
Any suggestions will be considered and greatly appreciated.  Thanks a bunch.
cinnabar

mesquite buckeye

Manage 80 acre tree farm in central Missouri and Mesquite timber and about a gozillion saguaros in Arizona.

Hilltop366

what ever you choose try a test on some scrap to see the results.

If the wood is rough it may be hard to get the finish to go on smooth.

69bronco

Water based poly may be the best for not changing looks.

LeeB

Why any finish at all? Inside and out of the weather, the wood will not be subject to rot. Sunlight/light will only enhance the grey. You would want to keep it from direct sunlight anyway to help protect the painting too. I have done many frames for the wife that are unfinished, some from rough wood and some from nicely surfaced wood.
'98 LT40HDD/Lombardini, Case 580L, Cat D4C, JD 3032 tractor, JD 5410 tractor, Husky 346, 372 and 562XP's. Stihl MS180 and MS361, 1998 and 2006 3/4 Ton 5.9 Cummins 4x4's, 1989 Dodge D100 w/ 318, and a 1966 Chevy C60 w/ dump bed.

thecfarm

I would need a picture to give you any advice.  :D  I really just want to see the wood. I have no idea.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

cinnabar