iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

success with a chainsaw mill

Started by TessiersFarm, July 05, 2009, 03:15:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TessiersFarm

I have had my alaskan mill now for about 3 months and I am completely thrilled with it.  I saw for an hour or two a couple of evenings a week and I am amazed at how much lumber is pilling up.  I have been planning on building a bandsaw mill for a couple of years but this thing is a major setback to the bandsaw plans.  I am a small farmer and I only cut wood for myself so I am not that concerned with speed but I do love the versatility of this thing.  I also use the saw for bucking firewood and that is a huge benifit as well.  I also love the size because I already have enough equipment that sets out to the weather and I am already building poor as it is.  I know all you hardcore sawmill guys are laughing and thinking I am off my rocker but I wanted to pass along my good experience for all those thinking of starting small and simple.  My next addition is a set of bunks to get the log up to a comfortable working height, and hold the flitches upright for sawing.  I am thinking something I can move with my forks on the tractor.
Stihl E14, 180, 026, 036, 361, 045
Husky 266, 372, 394
Dolmar 111

jimparamedic

Hay what ever works. I started with a homemade chainsaw mill than moved to a circular sawmill because it came at the right price and for me I felt it more practical than a band mill. Show some pics lets see what you saw and build. Saw dust gets in the blood.

fishpharmer

TF, that sounds great to me about your Alaskan mill.  I always thought they were neat machines that are versatile with dual purpose.  Now I have little experience  with sawmills in general but its great you have a mill, any mill.  I am too lazy an old for an Alaskan myself, admire you and others with them.