iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

home made kiln ?

Started by laffs, January 10, 2010, 05:19:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

laffs

hello out there im new to this so bear with me . i bought a sawmill 4 yrs ago. im thinking of puting it to work full time this summer. sooo anyway theres more money in dry lumber than there is in green. my queston is, can lumber be dried in a home made kiln heated by a wood stove? i plan to use my slabs for fuel. fans for circulation, and vents to get rid of the moisture.
timber harvester,tinberjack230,34hp kubota,job ace excavator carpenter tools up the yingyang,

beenthere

laffs
Welcome to the forum.
The answer would be yes, and the question would be "do you understand how to dry lumber, keeping the balance between humidity and heat at the levels to not destroy the wood being dried?"

It is not just about heat.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

zopi

also, do a google search Solar Kiln Virginia Tech, Gets a nice set of plans and some info about drying..

I think If I was going to go the wood fired route I would get an outdoor wood boiler and configure the controls through thermo stast and fans through humidistats..or use a commercial dehumidifier...

On the whole though, as slow as they tend to be, I'd just as soon have a solar kiln...the rise and fall of the temp and humidity seems to give a more resilient end product...guess it depends on your production volume.
Got Wood?
LT-15G GO chassis added.
WM sharpener and setter
And lots of junk.

laffs