iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Introduction & Questions

Started by LA Z BOY, December 01, 2011, 01:15:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LA Z BOY

My name is Paul & I have been lurking & reading for quite a while . A week or so ago I went ahead & registered . This is one of , if not the most friendly & helpful forum I have ran across yet . I live not far off rt. 50 about half way between Clarksburg & Parkersburg , WV .
I just turned 59 yesterday & am retired from an electrical career . In my early working life I worked as a mechanic for a couple different new car dealerships , worked as a carpenter or carpenters helper for a couple years & was in the teamsters union & drove truck for a highway construction company . Have also done quite a bit of plumbing & played in the real estate market . I even worked as an off-bearer on a small backwoods sawmill for a very short period of time . The owner was sawing rr tyes & tried to kill me catching everything coming off the saw & carrying & stacking those tyes . I am mechanically inclined , so not to concerned about the mechanics of a band-mill .
I own between 72 & 73 acres of property which about 70 acres is woodland .
I have decided I want a small band-mill to play with . I have no intention of going in business & probably will never make a dime with it or try to . I do want a good sturdy mill . From what I've read I think probably something along the lines of a Timberking 1220 or Woodmizer L15 . I would prefer to buy used if I can find a good deal on a used mill . There is also a T A Schmid mill with a 20 HP Honda engine in my area that I have been considering looking at . I can't find a website for them , have they gone out of business & are they good mills ? If they have could I still get parts for it ? Bearings etc . that I might need in the future ?