iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Roughcut Pine Pricing Question

Started by Privacyleech, December 14, 2014, 11:31:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Privacyleech

There is a gentleman who uses local lumber to make furnature and he wants to know how much I would charge (bdft) to furnish him with rough cut pine and deliver it to him. I have some pine logs and expect to get more in the near future for free. He will take it green because he has a kiln. I want to be fair and give him an honest price but seeing as i am new to this I dont want to undercut myself for labor and time. I am thinking in the ballpark of .60/bdft delivered and will probably want to take him 1000 bdft at a time. . . does this seem reasonable/low/high?  ???

backwoods sawyer

Seems reasonable but a bit low. All though you do get a steady customer and that has merit based on the volume that he uses.

$.30 bft for milling and same for the logs, free delivery, but would add in, he takes mill run and price may fluctuate based on log cost. If he wants choice boards only, the price would need to go up. Better quality logs will also cost more but yeild better lumber.

Talk it all over to make sure you both are talking the same product and volume, and confim the price based on that. but leave the price veriable based on the veriables. He will not want to be locked into a specific volume do to veriables on his end as well.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

Magicman

I would be inclined to separate the lumber and delivery cost.  A price per board foot for the lumber and then a per mile delivery charge.  Any other charges would be hourly rate.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People