iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Husky 346XP not starting? Has fire, plug wet. Won't kick off with ether either

Started by Thechamp, July 31, 2014, 06:15:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thechamp

Newbie here, was looking around on the net for some advice on a chainsaw and came across this forum.  Must say lots of good info here.  Been reading as a 'guest' this evening till I got approval to join up.  I'm in South Texas so I don't use my chainsaw very much.  It sits most of the time and probably hasn't cut a cord of wood since it was new.  I do live on a small farm and have a pasture full of mesquite which I occasionally cut up for barbeque wood for my buds, etc.   I had hoped to do some hunting and thought it would be nice to have a good saw to clear out trails, etc., so I went with the Husqvarna 346XP.  I bought it in probably 2006.  Used it twice this year for some minor trimming on my mother's place and the other day went to start it and it started to start, did it's 'cough' and then wouldn't start.  I'm physically pretty messed up and honestly the compression on this saw makes it very hard for me to start if it doesn't catch the first 2-3 pulls.  Long story short, it didn't start.  I check the plug and it had fire.  The plug was very wet indicating gas.  I've been around outboards for 40 years and usually if you have a carb problem and hit them with a little ether they fire up.  Nope, nothing.  I checked the fuel supply line and it was clear with fuel coming from the tank.  The fuel was old so I changed it out but that didn't help either.  Finally gave up and took it to a local shop.   Seeing the experience on this forum I suspect some of you have seen this before and can give me a hint as to what was wrong and what to expect in the way of a repair.