iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Simonds red streak blade???

Started by badpenny, May 04, 2005, 02:15:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

badpenny

Just got a batch (10) of these blades 1 1/4" .035 3/4 pitch for my Oscar 18" mill. Does anyone have any comments good-bad-otherwise on these blades? I will be sawing aspen 4/4 and 8/4 for a small shed to begin with, and later on this fall and winter, red oak and ash 4/4 and 8/4. Remember , I'm a novice at milling lumber, still on the steep up side of the learning curve. Tks in advance,
Hope and Change, my foot,  It's time for Action and Results!

GF

I currently use some of there 1 1/2" blades and have not had any problems with them, they seem to cut real well right up there like the Munkforsager blades do.

Grawulf

Badpenny,
A while back, they had a free trial of their blades. I was using Suffolks at the time (costing $20). Found that the red streaks cut pretty well for lots cheaper. I have had a few more fail from metal fatigue but for the price, I like them. Make sure that you invert them before you put them on the mill. The ones that I've been getting have the teeth pointed in the wrong direction! Guess they're made for mills on the other side of the mill shed.  :D Last ones I got from Menominee were between $14 - $15. What are people paying for Munksforsager's?

dutchman

I've been using red streak 1.5" 0.042  since I got my mill. Average 700 bdf of hardwood between sharpenings.
I just got a monkey blade to try.Cut spruce  today cut like butter. Good luck.

Brad_S.

I've tried a lot of brands but have found Red Streaks to give me the best balance of performance and VERY long blade life. Munkeys cut a little better but don't have the longevity.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." J. Lennon

Sawing Logz

Got to agree with dutchman, also with sawing ash, the Monkeys keep there set, being thicker. But for a good starter and all around blade I got about 700BF between resharpes.

Jeff