iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Questions on Log home Construction

Started by hbeane, June 15, 2016, 11:45:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hbeane

Hello all I have some questions about the construction of a log home.  I just recently bought A woodmizer LT15 and I have been cutting some framing lumber for a building I am getting ready to build and siding with Batton Board.  However the next project once I get a building thrown together for tools and stuff like that I am going to be starting a log home. I have lots of experience with standard stick frame construction but as new as can be on log construction.  Honestly I am as new to milling as well. What I want to do is build with 8"x10" cants.  I like the dovetail notch for the corners. But I have so many questions that I wont ask all in this post. First is 8"x10" cants thick enough? Also I would like to build while the lumber is still green and after dry chink the home. But if building green is a bad idea I wanna know. I have alot of what I think is Pitch Pine and I am not sure if that would be ok to use.  I have Poplar as well but alot of these Pine Trees to clear for my home.  I will post a picture of the tree at the end of my post.  and I assume I dont want to lay one cant right ontop of the next and so on. should there be some gap or air clearance beetween my logs? Seems to me like I should. Another question I have is splicing a log in the middle of a wall.  If this needs to be done is it ok to just butt one into the other or is there a better method? Also concerned  if this would look ok? Butting logs together in the middle of a wall.  I want my foundation to consist of 6x6 treated post every 5' or so.  Recomendations??  I plan to have the house about 2' off the ground. Maybe I need more?? I know I am bouncing all over the place but I have so many questions and looking for any help I can find. Thanks in advance for any help or advice you can give.