iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

OWB, radiant heat in floor heat... can i add a tankless boiler to the system???

Started by brownloggin, January 28, 2015, 09:01:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brownloggin

i'm a tree guy not a HVAC scientist...  i'm building my first home this spring for my family.  I've already purchased a slightly used Central Boiler 5036.  we will be doing in floor heat through out the 3100 square foot house of heat able space (basement too).  what i'd like to add is a way to heat the water in case i'm not around to add wood.  on demand hot water.  do the flow rates need to match up?  i'm new to this, and am reading a ton.  also... is a thermal storage tank a good way to store heat energy for my floor system?  thanks for any input. 

doctorb

If you have a finished, partitioned basement, then the radiant floor heat will be nice.  If the basement will be open storage with standard basement stuff, then the pipes and the heat exchanger to your oil backup furnace gives off plenty of heat to warm a basement.  So, without knowing exactly what you are going to do with the basement (living space, etc.), you may want to save yourself the trouble of putting in radiant down there as the energy that comes in from the OWB is exposed to the air of the basement and throws off plenty of heat.  It's enough that, on cold days, I open the door leading down to my unheated basement from the first floor to let the rising heated air come out.  I realize this may not pertain to your individual situation, but it may.

By the way, I know I failed to answer your specific question.  that's because I don't know the answer.  Wait about 10 minutes, you'll get one!  Welcome to the Forum!
My father once said, "This is my son who wanted to grow up and become a doctor.  So far, he's only become a doctor."

Holmes