iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Difference between Stihl 881 and the 880?

Started by York Woodwright, September 21, 2015, 11:51:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

York Woodwright

I ordered a new Stihl chainsaw today, to be used in a chainsaw mill  with a 4-foot bar. I thought I ordered the MS880, but when the paperwork was done, I see that I ordered an 881. The chap at the store told me it was their new model to replace the 880, and said that the bar is 47 inches and not 48. He couldn't tell me what the difference is between the two models. Anyone?
Charles
I'm still learning how to use my WM LT40HD. This is an avocation, not a vocation -- not as pecunious as medicine, but a lot more fun!

SawTroll

I don't think there even is a MS881 yet (at least not availiable for sale), and have no info on it. Are you sure there isn't just a mix-up in the "paperwork" concerning the order?
Information collector.

York Woodwright

SawTroll, I was also sceptical. I didn't think such a model existed either, and questioned the dealer.

But I saw the 881 model on the Stihl dealer price list (on paper) that the dealer used as well as on a website for dealers. Because I wanted a long bar, the local dealer phoned Stihl to get a special price for the 881 power head and long bar; he was very specific that this was a new model, though he admitted he didn't know what the difference(s) is/are. I had a choice between a standard handle and a curvy wrap-around handle; I opted for the standard one. My invoice also says '881'. I'll have it in about a week.

Because I couldn't find any info about the 881 on the web, I turned to my learned colleagues and posted my question here.  ???

Charles
I'm still learning how to use my WM LT40HD. This is an avocation, not a vocation -- not as pecunious as medicine, but a lot more fun!

HolmenTree

I'm certain it's a typo,  but you never know with a low sale model like the MS880 not much is advertised about and a upgraded model may slip through the woodwork.