iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Woodmizer LT 15 Height Adjustment Issue

Started by SouthernVTSawyer, June 10, 2013, 06:07:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SouthernVTSawyer

Hello all---this is my first post (after much time spent reading others).  I have a Woodmizer LT-15 that I've been using for just over two years now.  Today, after the second pass of sawing a log, the up/down adjustment suddenly froze up, and now I can't move it more than 1/8" up or down.  I called tech support, and they said to put blocks under the saw head, and then adjust the chain tension.  I did that, and tried less and more tension, and it's still completely stuck.  I couldn't find anything online mentioning this issue before.  Does anyone have any thoughts or experience with this?  It's quite confusing to me, because the up/down chain system seems so simple, and mostly everything is in plain sight, yet I can't see why it won't move.  I'm really hoping to avoid the high cost of having a tech visit on site!  I appreciate any help...

dgdrls

Give your request a little time, lots of WM folks here to assist

while you wait check your factory manual,  should be an exploded view of the mechanism?

does the head have a list assist cylinder?

DGD

SouthernVTSawyer

Thanks.  The head does have a lift assist cylinder I believe--I think the manual warns about not disassembling that piece because of the pressurized gas...

Magicman

I am of no help with your problem, but Welcome to the Forestry Forum.   :)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Sixacresand

Welcome to the forum.  Keep us posted.
"Sometimes you can make more hay with less equipment if you just use your head."  Tom, Forestry Forum.  Tenth year with a LT40 Woodmizer,

SouthernVTSawyer