iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

stihl 020 avp electronic

Started by sandyman1216, March 20, 2013, 01:44:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sandyman1216

OK I'm new to all this;forums and chainsaws .Retired electrician finding time for new frustrations .My saws;. ECHO 500EVL ,husky 36, new echo top handle ,forgot the model # and my favorite so far the 020avp. I've done the carb kit in the 500evl  new carb in the husky success!!not so much with the 020.Thanks to this forum got it apart installed carb kit( local stihl service tech told me diaphram gsket combo was wrong tried to follow parts diagram to rebuild:might be the problem)bought a compression tester after the fact .I used the hose extension with schrader valve got 110 lbs then that quit working :-\ :-\went to direct hose to gauge 110 lbs again. I have the service manual can't find what it's supposed to be. ANYWAY IT RUNS GREAT FOR AWHILE THAN TAKES A DIVE .Question;, is there hope? should it stay or should it go?
always learnin

Al_Smith

Most likely you could rering it and get it back up on compression .

Depending on how old it is it could be 38 mm or 40 mm bore size .You can buy generic rings for little of nothing ,like less than 10 bucks .I suppose the dealers could supply rings too if you wanted to go that route .Fact I've never had a problem finding parts for an 020Av .They are a little pain in the buttocks of a saw to work on though .

sandyman1216

Thanks Al
   you think it's a job a rook can take on ? I GOT THE TIME ; Don't know if I got the tools .saw the 38 mm ring and piston set @ chainsawr for25$ iszat the way to go
always learnin

Al_Smith

Although some would like to say that working on chainsaws is akin to rocket science it really is not .You shouldn't have any problems aside from taking the danged little thing apart .Unless the piston is chewed up it's probabley okay .

A piston doesn't have to be perfect to work well .Of course it can't be out of round like a football either .