iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What should I expect to pay for a Timber Assesment? 20 acres SE Missouri

Started by t444e, August 10, 2010, 01:22:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

t444e

Hello, Great Forum you got here.

I recently purchased small piece of land (20 acres) in SE Missouri Ozarks.  It is mostly oak.  
Not being from the area  and not being familiar with the Logging Industry I was wanting to find out   how much I would expect to pay for a Timber Assesment?  I would like to know exactly what I have and the quality  and quantity of the wood if possible.

I have not called or spoke with any local loggers yet.    There is a lot of mills in the area, 4-5 within 3 miles of my property.
Not sure who to call. I am just learning before I call and waste anyones time.

I might want to have it cut or maybe cut it myself in the future to offset a small hunting shack or  camp.

Thanks

Ron Scott

Contact the local conservation district forester or DNR service forester serving the local area for such local advice. They may advise you free of charge or refer you to a certified consulting forester. Consult with a professional forester first for an appropriate timber assessment to meet your objectives.
~Ron

Jeff

Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

t444e

chain

The SE Missouri regional forestry and conservation office is in Cape Girardeau, ph.573-290-5730. Or better yet go by and speak with the District forester there and visit the Nature Center, outstanding facility. 

t444e

Quote from: chain on August 11, 2010, 03:34:21 PM
The SE Missouri regional forestry and conservation office is in Cape Girardeau, ph.573-290-5730. Or better yet go by and speak with the District forester there and visit the Nature Center, outstanding facility.