iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Foley M-14 Power Unit

Started by Jim B, June 30, 2017, 08:47:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim B

Hello everyone I'm a new member and have been reading and searching this forum for sometime now and this is my first time posting on any site . I have been restoring a Foley M-14 that is a steel base it is ready for a power unit as my tractor is only 40 horse. I have recently found a older ford 300-6 chipper motor that is all set up with a clutch and runs good,my question is it going to have enough torque to pull through Oak? That saw is 48"
Thanks for all responses

Jim B

paul case

Welcome to the Forum, Jim B.

PC
life is too short to be too serious. (some idiot)
2013 LT40SHE25 and Riehl edger,  WM 94 LT40 hd E15. Cut my sawing ''teeth'' on an EZ Boardwalk
sawing oak.hickory,ERC,walnut and almost anything else that shows up.
Don't get phylosophical with me. you will loose me for sure.
pc

Gearbox

If you turn it enough RPMs it will pull a 48in saw .
A bunch of chainsaws a BT6870 processer , TC 5 International track skidder and not near enough time

york

Hi,if it was on a chipper,it will have good torque...Should work ok....
Albert

bandmiller2

Welcome Jim, where in Ma. are you located.??  That 300 6cyl. is a good engine and it will have a governor and clutch. Only problem I can see is its rotation. Belsaws are designed to be driven with a tractor PTO from behind the mill left hand rotation, the ford 300 turns right. there are ways around this but require more work. If you have the tractor PTO to arbor shaft you could try the tractor, Belsaws feed slow and you would do fine with pine. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

bandmiller2

Jim I see your in Brookfield, I used to put my canoe in the river just down the street. Frank C.

tgalbraith