iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Franklin skidder

Started by mainiac, December 26, 2009, 11:06:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mainiac

1973 120 Franklin skidder. Ring chains on front, ice chains on back. New paint. $7500

This is all the info I have at this point, just wondering if it would be something to chase down as it's about 175 miles from me and I have no knowledge of skidders. Logging with a 21hp Kubota tractor right now.

Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.

Ed_K

I have a taylor,1972   like the franklin most parts are off the shelf or a few days when ordering. Pd $6200. and it cost around $1500. per yr to keep it going.Look it over good put the blade down and have someone watch the center for up&down movement on the pins an bushings. That was the hardest fix we did to mine an we did it in the woods (never again).
Ed K

mainiac

Really? No oppinions on a machine like this? Is it an ok skidder for a newbie to skidders? Is it a fair price for it? or should it be less? I understand that it all depends on the the condition of it, but would you make the drive based on the price?

Thanks and Happy New Year
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.

J_T

Yes that an't to far and you never know till you see it . Is a nice light weight skidder an easy to get around . I got a T J 225d that is easy to get on and off for a old man it will do anything i need to .
Jim Holloway

Rocky_Ranger

Back in the day I used a Franklin and a 518 Cat, the Franklin was just a good dependable machine.  Not as fast but reliable.  Articulates a little slower but a good winch, didn't use grapples at the time.  You ought to be able to find it in the woods when it's operating, it makes a "unique" racket......
RETIRED!

Kansas