iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Battery backup for wood furnace

Started by Woodcutter_Mo, January 15, 2018, 11:04:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodcutter_Mo

Hello, hope this hasn't been over discussed on here. I finally got my Fire Chief fs2200 outdoor furnace fired up and am wanting to install a battery backup in case of a power outage when I'm not home. I am not experienced with electrical stuff so I'm looking for input on exactly what parts I need.

From what I know, I need an automatic inverter/charger to switch to battery power when the power goes off.

I found a Tripp Lite APS750 inverter with 750W continuous and 1500W surge rating on the I internet that should work?. What size of deep cycle auto/marine batteries would I need to run the furnace for 6-8hr+ ? 6-8hr is just a guess on the burn time since I haven't used the furnace enough yet.

As far as the furnace goes, it has a single blower as well as a draft blower to run.

Any info or knowledge would be appreciated, thanks
-WoodMizer LT25
-592XP full wrap, 372XP, 550XP, 455 Rancher, RedMax GZ3500T
-Fixer-uppers/projects:
024AV, MS260, MS361, MS460, Shindaiwa 488, 394XPG

TKehl

What is the intent?   ???

The furnace should "self protect", close dampers, and go to a slow burn without power.

Setting and forget the T-stat on your existing heat to a low temperature is very simple.  (We leave ours at 55°F just in case a fire goes out.  Haven't needed it, but nice to know it's there if we can't get home.) 

A small generator to run the blower on the stove would be cheaper and simpler.  We have a standard wall outlet type plug in for the furnace blower and a $200 TSC generator to run the stove and a few lights in a power outage.  HF makes decent little generators to.