iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cupping Band Blades...Too much Tension?

Started by logwalker, September 04, 2008, 12:49:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

logwalker

Fellow Bandsaw Sawyers,

I have been sawing for several years and have been observing my blades develop a downward cupping that causes the blade to dive. I know there is a lot of controversy about rolling blades and whether it is ever necessary. But it is quite easy to see the cupping with a flat bar held to the band and the diving is a big pain.

I opened a new box of WM blades even though I have a large quantity of fairly fresh blades that will not cut straight. So out of the box I am setting the tension lower than ever before. I want to see if the 2500 lbs I was using before could be the culprit. I am using 2000 lbs and it cuts straight thru the knots and all.

Has anybody else made this connection or have any other ideas on how to combat the cupping I am experiencing? I am also considering making a handheld band roller that would slip over the band while mounted on the machine and reverse the cup. Is anyone using the Cook's roller and if so what are the results. Do the results last for several sharpenings?

Woodmiser recommends a psi of 2200 or 2300 lbs. That was for a 1 1/4" blade. I thought that if I went to 1 1/2" I should increase the pressure to 2500 or more. I think that might have been a mistake. I sharpen and set my own blades if that makes a difference.

Joe
Let's all be careful out there tomorrow. Lt40hd, 22' Kenworth Flatbed rollback dump, MM45B Mitsubishi trackhoe, Clark5000lb Forklift, Kubota L2850 tractor

bandmiller2