iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Husky advice for a first time buyer

Started by Daren, April 24, 2005, 03:25:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daren

I have very little experience with chainsaws. I have a small 20 year old Stihl that runs like a top and is a wood eater for it's size, and a Homelite that I cheaped out a bought here recently, it would not even make a decent boat anchor. Wasted my money, now I am looking at a Husky.
I don't cut trees, just do some limb trimming the Stihl works great for that. What I need a good saw for is 1/4 big logs lengthways to get the on my bandmill. I don't try to take big logs, but can't pass on some. Maybe 1 a month, I guess if I had a decent saw I would take a few more, but not many. I just don't like running a chainsaw. I have read the 372 is a good saw, so is the price tag for one I will only use a few hours a month tops. What about the 359? From what I have read they have 3.9 h.p. I can get a 359 for $360.00, but I don't want to have another saw I am not satified with (like the piece of junk Homelite). I am just not sure I can justify the 372, unless I absolutly have to. Any advice would be helpfull, I willing to look at any model I just mentioned those 2. What do you guys think a guy needs for busting big logs that are already laying on the ground a few times a year (without busting the bank) . I am not afraid of spending the money for something I don't have to stand over forever sawing. To make this long post short, I want enough saw, but not too much saw (if there is such a thing)
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

TexasTimbers

Daren,

Your apparent dilemma is no dilemma at all, and oh so easy to solve! Simply click on the Bailey's link and order your 372XP now, before someone else posts an answer in contradiction to this wise counsel and leads you astray!
Life is simply too short to live without a 372XP, if, like you say, money is no object.