iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Reference faces vs. centerlines

Started by pizza, April 12, 2019, 08:25:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pizza

Hi. I'm getting ready to build a small timber frame style shed for firewood storage. I'm a woodworker but new to timber framing. Although I have taken classes in TF but they were many many many years ago. So I'm considering myself a beginner. My shed is only 87" by 99" and I'm using 4" x 4" (actual size) white oak timbers. This is a fun foray into TF for me and I can't wait to get started.

However, I'm torn on whether I should use the reference face method or striking centerlines on the timbers. My timbers are to arrive on Tuesday this week so at this point I don't know how wavy, bowed, twisted, crooked or square they are. Although I was assured by my sawyer that they should be "pretty good", we'll see. 

I'm generally following Will Beemer's book "Learn to Timber Frame" and he is using the reference face technique laying out the joinery. 

I'm a bit nervous about not making a mistake as I have only a few extra timbers for "just in case".

There is a good video on Youtube  by a TF guy up in Idaho (I think) building a TF shop and he pretty well narrates and describes what he is doing and, most importantly why, as he lays out and cuts the joinery on the beam. His channel is called "Fouch Family Off Grid" and the video has the words "Chain Mortiser Demo" in the title if you want to search for it. He uses the centerlines technique basically. I've watched it at least 3 times. Their videos are great.

What if, say, my 4" x 4"x 8 ft posts have got boughs (bows? not sure how to spell it) in them, say as much as half inch? I've read that some will plane the boughed side flat and basically establish the two reference faces, which seems like alot of work compared to just striking a centerline. BUT if you just strike a centerline and don't fix the bough, that face won't be flat for the eventual siding that will be applied.