iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Worm drive chainsaw milling attachment

Started by Roland, September 27, 2018, 09:51:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roland

I've  been entertaining the idea ot incorporating this into my milling process.
Making the first rip cut with a 70cc chainsaw and the other 3 sides with the wormdrive. This is to turn the logs into timber ready to mill up at a later date with a bandsaw
Adopt the pace of nature her secret is patience.
RWE

Roland

Forgot to mention that the logs are only 15" pine being used for a 1k sq ft cabin build.
RWE

Roland

I'm a framing carpenter by trade and use to use the attachment for cutting the plumb cuts on rafters 20 at a time
RWE

Hilltop366

Sounds like you are talking about a worm drive circular saw with a bar and chain?

My first thought is does it have a oiler for the bar and chain.

sawguy21

I am familiar with worm drive circular saws but have never seen anything like that. An Alaskan mill might be easier.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Hilltop366

"Prazi beam cutter" type of attachment is what I was thinking Roland was talking about.

sawguy21

old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

mike_belben

There is no oiler on a prazi beam cutter so the bar probably wont last long.   

Debark the logs and pile them off the ground, in a shady spot.  Its a challenge to keep them in the breeze enough to prevent mold/mushrooms and out of the sun enough to prevent excessive cracking.  But anyhow you can get 3-5 years storage out of this.  Chainsaw milling sucks, do it all when the bandsaw comes along. 
Praise The Lord

Roland

RWE

Roland

It would be super easy to rig up a gravity fed oiler
RWE

Hilltop366

This may work but I'm sceptical by nature.