iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

setting pitch

Started by wooddog, April 02, 2005, 08:05:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wooddog

You all must have covered this before, but I'm new to pine pitch, I'm used to working with ash, birtch, and maple, and other hard woods. I'm helping mill pine with pep when I can, and setting pitch seem to be a  topic. Pitch is the sap in the wood? I think, what temp will It show up air dryed wood? I have made stuff out of pine before I think that was only air dryed, have finish it and don't seem to have a problem with it.

Minnesota_boy

A lot depends on the species of pine you have.  Red pine will bleed pitch after it's air dried every time the temperature gets above the temperature it dried at, such as a piece from the center of the stack being out in full sunlight on a hot day.  Every knot will be stricky and have beads of sap on it.  White pine will do the same except perhaps worse.  When you put these pieces in a kiln and raise the temperature enough, the pitch is set and bleeding stops.

Jack pine seems to be less of a problem, although it can still bleed on a larger knot.  It takes a temperature change to above what the piece has seen before to make the pitch run again.
I eat a high-fiber diet.  Lots of sawdust!

chet

Normally you may asume, pitch will be set at what ever the highest temperature the lumber has been exposed to for 24 consecutive hours.
I am a true TREE HUGGER, if I didnt I would fall out!  chet the RETIRED arborist

wooddog

Ok i'm working with white pine. would the pitch set If the wood is in a buliding in say july or augest when we get temps of 80 to 90F , would the pitch set to that temp even if the temp drop at night and how long would it have to stay there?

chet

No....  that 80 to 90 temp will probably be only for a short time of the day.  I should have also mentioned earlier that the wood needs to be at those temps, not just the air.