iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Preparing For My Sawmill Purchase

Started by the_hobbyist, February 10, 2018, 12:32:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

the_hobbyist

Hi all! This is my first time interacting with you, but I've been lurking for quite some time. This forum has been an amazing resource for research! Long story short, I am going to be purchasing a Woodmizer LT15 Wide. My goal is to pay off the investment within 3 years by selling furniture made from the lumber milled, and providing lumber to local woodworkers if they so desire. I'm just curious if there are any unexpected costs that I might not be thinking of. After all, I'm greener than the wood I'll be cutting. I'll be setting up an air drying station and a solar kiln. I've got the stickers, end sealer, metal detector (I will be working with some yard trees, mostly private woods though), moisture meter, and cant hooks in my budget as well.

• How many blades should I get to start off with? In my budget I have 3 each of 4 degree, 7 degree, and 10 degree. We'll mostly be sawing hardwood (lots of locust). My thought is that should be a good number to see which blades work best, then I can order full boxes if needed.
  • Is there anything else that I might be missing? I'd hate to do all this research, pull the trigger, and find out I missed something that will be a major cost.

Any help you guys could offer would be greatly appreciated!

starmac

Do you have a way to move logs and larger slabs?

Something to knock the bark off where the blade enters, unless you will have a debarker.
A way to remove the sawdust off your lumber.
I like to keep a tape handy at all times, along with a lumber crayon and a small framing square.
Old LT40HD, old log truck, old MM forklift, and several huskies.

JRWoodchuck

A trailer to move logs and a chainsaw for bucking to length. I use both of those quite regularly around the mill. Oh and a log rite!
Home built bandsaw mill still trying find the owners manual!

thecfarm