iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

"Pallets" for air drying

Started by yieldmap, June 01, 2004, 01:34:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yieldmap

Hey all,
I'm new to this whole sawing and drying thing, but am ready to get started.  I've lined up some red oak logs, cleared from a lot, and have a sawyer scheduled to come in a couple of weeks.  I'm planning on air drying the lumber, but would like to build some sort of "pallet"s to stack the lumber on for drying.  I would like to stack the wet lumber, stickered, on the pallets outside for a few weeks, then take them into my shed for final drying.

What design and material experience does anybody have in creating these pallets?  I obviously want something that will not bow or bend, lest the wood follow.  I also do not want to have a 500# pallet, as my loader forks can only pick up about 1700#, and I want as much wood on each pallet that I can stack.

Suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

beenthere

Green oak, by the calculator on the left of this page, will weigh about 5.2 pounds/bf, so a 'stack' of red oak 1" lumber for air drying that is 4' wide X 8' long will have about 166 pounds per layer, which will total about 1500 # in 9 layers (leaves 200 pounds for the pallet underneath).  With 3/4" stickers, that is a stack (pile) about 16" high.

You can probably figure that as a rough estimate to get the weight of a 'pallet' of green red oak lumber. Of course, as it loses moisture it will weigh less.  Hope this helps your planning stage.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

DanG