iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

blades etc.

Started by smalltime, February 11, 2005, 11:08:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smalltime

:)Hi all, from nova scotia,Just got some new lenox bands  for my manual mill any comments on these.I have never used these before.What kind of board footage are you manual mill operators getting on softwoods ,spruce,fir,pine. Just curious? Thanks.

chet

Welcome Smalltime,
I have been using Lenox Woodmasters for awhile. I have been very happy with them, both in cutting performance and longevity. Its hard to put a board footage figure out there, because there are too many controlling factors that are not related to the blade. Such as: dirt, frozen wood, type of wood, mill adjustment, operator, lube, and how far the blade is pushed to name a few.
I am a true TREE HUGGER, if I didnt I would fall out!  chet the RETIRED arborist

Tom

welcome to the forum, smalltime.

While my mill isn't manual, I use Lenox.  They are Woodmaster C's.  I think they are a little heartier than most other blades and the reason for their apparent thickness and width is because they are built on metric scale.  I'm told that is the reason that the 1 1/4 appears to be a little wider than normal.

They work good for me but I had problems with my Woodmizer.   The smaller wheels on my LT40 seemed to prefer a more flexible blade.  I had good luck with Woodmizer's blades but eventually went to Simonds Red Streaks. The Red Streaks have performed very good.

Is your mill of the smaller variety "push mill" or one of the larger manual mills?  If your band wheels are small and your engine HP is below 15, you might find that a band less than 42 thousandths thick will work better. They don't have as much of a problem going around a small wheel and don't need as wide of a kerf either.

Of course, the important thing is Don't try to fix it if it ain't broke. :D

Tell us a Little more about what you got and what you do.  We are always interested..  ...'specially me. :D