iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Rockwell Axle Nut

Started by SliverPicker, March 23, 2014, 12:05:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SliverPicker

I've got the Tree Farmer axles mostly apart to replace the leaking seals.  I am stuck needing a 4-3/8" socket to remove the main axle nut.  Proto sells one that weighs 33 pounds and change and costs almost $1700.  That option is out.  Short of fabricating my own, which is not my strongest skill, what are my choices? 

Does anyone know the torque spec. to reinstall these nuts?

Thanks fellas!
Yooper by trade.

Ljohnsaw

Try a rental shop - they probably have what you need and it might cost you $10 for a day.  You know, those places that rent trailers and equipment.  They usually have a lot of specialty tools to rent.  Also, NAPA (and such auto parts stores) have tools to rent.  Any truck stops around you?  Bring a six twelve pack and they might loan you what you need.
John Sawicky

Just North-East of Sacramento...

SkyTrak 9038, Ford 545D FEL, Davis Little Monster backhoe, Case 16+4 Trencher, Home Built 42" capacity/36" cut Bandmill up to 54' long - using it all to build a timber frame cabin.

SliverPicker

I have seen those stamped versions, but I'm a bit skeptical that they can handle the torque needed to refasten those nuts.  Does anyone know for sure?

We are pretty thin on tool rental places around here and there are no truck stops.  I live pretty much in the sticks.  I will try Napa tomorrow, but I don't think they rent/loan any tools.
Yooper by trade.

stihltoomany

I used to work on heavy trucks and those stamped sockets were used all the time to do axle nuts. Assuming that that your tree farmer axle is similiar to a semi truck axle. Our sockets came from the same place that sold heavy truck parts, brakes, rims, springs and such. Those sockets are tougher than you might think and not too terrible high priced.  Good Luck
Way too many saws, mostly STIHL
Bobcat S650, Bobcat 331 excavator Bobcat A770
and other dirt toys