iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking for books

Started by Elevendy, November 18, 2008, 06:48:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elevendy

Hello there!

I am a forestry engineer from Hungary, and I want to deepen my english knowledge in the field of forestry. I just want to get knowledge of the most common forestry related terms etc. I did a little search on amazon.com, and this book seemed promising.

Any of you can give me some advice of this book or have any recommendations?

Thanks! :)

/If there are any related topics in this subject, please, direct me there/

RynSmith

I'm not sure if this is quite what you're looking for, but I find the Dictionary of Forestry by J. Helms to be pretty handy.  It's pricey, though, so you might look into a used copy. 

http://www.amazon.com/Dictionary-Forestry-John-Helms/dp/0939970732

Woolywolf

That does look like a good read, I think.  Also, I recently checked out a book from my school's library called the Forester's Companion .  It's by a British author, N.D.G. James, about forestry in Britain and a little bit dated, but it has a lot of useful information in it.  Perhaps the species covered in it might be more relevant to Hungary.

Tom

Elevendy,
I like that name.  Elevendy-leven is even better.  that's more than a Thousand. :D

You are lucky in one respect.  Many of us access the The Forestry Products Wood Handbook.  It is a Government publication of rich Wood oriented information.  It a free PDF and can be read on-line.  I use it a lot and even enjoy just reading it.

There are other US Government publications that would deal more specifically with Forestry, I'm just not familiar with them.  I will try to find some though.  Member "Beenthere" has posted the site where they reside, before. Perhaps he will be kind enough to do it again.  You can't beat Free.  :D

We have gotten into some pretty deep conversations with our foresters on the forum too.  You might find some of those old posts entertaining.  :)

SwampDonkey